Review: The Clockwork Menagerie by Elliot Cooper

The Clockwork Menagerie

Blurb

Autosmith Clement Dyer wants to create his life-like, mechanical animals in peace. He’s tired of being badgered about selling his business to his long-time rival and former lover, Duke Goodwin. He also craves appreciation for his living works of art.

Unfortunately, not all of Clement’s clients see his clockwork creations the way he does, and a prominent but dissatisfied customer threatens to sink his struggling business into the ground.

Review

I loved this book so much. It was a little unexpected to me, because it’s not what I would usually read, but I give it a try, and glad I did because it was great.

Clement is an autosmith, he’s good creating mechanical animals but his business is facing bad times. He needs to deal, not only with that, but also with the mischievous behavior of his rival Duke.

The world created by the author was so beautiful. A perfect mixed between the technologies used to build of the animals and the, sort of historical, moment of time they live into. The pace was steady, with a few moments when it speed up a little. It took my attention the whole time.

The character were my favorite part of it. There was no one person who appeared on the book, that I wasn’t interested in. Even the ones who were there for little time or the ones who seemed unpleasant, all generate some kind of emotion to the reader, and that was simply amazing.

I really liked Clement, the way he believed in his creations. His feelings were so easily transmitted to the reader, I liked that a lot.

Duke was a little bit of a mystery, but I feel like that worked better for the story, the interactions between him and Clement were so great, but I felt liked there were too few.

Overall I think it was an amazing story. I think a lot of readers can be able to enjoy it,

The only problem I had with it was that it was too short. I wanted to know more about the story. I truly hope there’s more of this, I would love to know what might happened from the point the book ends.

*I received a copy of this book from the publisher, in exchange of an honest review.

This entry was posted in M/M.

Leave a Reply

