Review: The Trap (Love Unlocked) by Claire Davis and Al Stewart

The Trap

Blurb

New job – sexy boss – fate – Art…

When Sal attends an open exam for an apprentice artist to work alongside the infamous Matthew Picard, the last thing he expects is to be the winner. But then his role is revealed and nothing is ever the same again. As he toils day and night on the unique sculpture, strange sensations begin to affect both him and the watching master artist.

Matthew Picard thought he was through with men and love. What he wanted was for Sal to help him create one final monstrous masterpiece – The Trap.

But as he observes his young apprentice, his focus shifts, and so do the very walls of the gallery.

Is it the beauty of art, or something more magical at work?

As the sculpture is created, a power is unlocked.

Can love save them, or will they be trapped forever?

* * *

A story from Love Unlocked – a collection of seven short stories and novellas – unique LGBTQ romances inspired by the Love Lock Bridge.

LOVE UNLOCKED:
The Trap by Claire Davis and Al Stewart
Writer’s Lock by Victoria Milne
Locked in the Moment by Dawn Sister
The Weekend by J P Walker
The Scarlet Lock by Caraway Carter
He Melted Us by Ofelia Gränd
Chain of Secrets by Debbie McGowan

 

Review

I will start my review stealing a quote from the book, which I feel the authors deserve and it makes a nice description of my thoughts of the story: “I am amazed at your dedication. Never have I seen such focus. It is…stunning,”

It was just beautiful, I loved this story. It was hard to put it down. The plot was interesting, it was nice to see where the story could be, and I definitely wasn’t expecting what happened, but I really enjoyed it.

The characters were great. Sal was so lovely, at times funny, and I loved his interactions with others. It was so easy to feel related to his feelings and his insecurities, I liked him very much.

Matthew was a little mysterious at the beginning and I liked it so much, I think that worked fantastically giving a feeling of uncertainty to the story. There was some sense of melancholy around him that made him so appealing to me.

The building of a relationship was at a pace that i enjoyed, it was believable and was coherent with the development of the characters.

I’m not particularly fond on magical thinking, but I felt like the story worked for me.

Overall I think it was a great reading. I think anyone can enjoy it.

*I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through the DBML program of the M/M Romance group at goodreads.

This entry was posted in M/M.

Leave a Reply

