The Captain’s Men (Adrift #1) by T.J. Land

 

The Captain’s Men

Blurb

The Prayer and her crew have been lost in space for four years. Thomas is lonely and homesick; Zachery is angry and mutinous; Rick is just terrified. And all of them are really in need of a fuck.

The only thing holding them together is their captain, an aloof, sharp-tongued man whose methods of keeping up morale are unconventional, but extremely effective. But now the captain has a choice to make: do they continue their fruitless search for a way home or try to start a new life in this strange galaxy?

Review

This book has a very interesting concept. The idea of being lost in space attracted me so much.
I liked the word that was created by the author. I can’t imagine how terrible would be, being trapped in the same place and with the same people for four years, with nothing to do to waste the time. It sounds really awful.

The captain of The Prayer is trying to do his best to keep his crew entertain and as he does this, the reader gets to know most of them.

It was really fun getting to know the crew of The Prayer. I feel like the plot was mostly oriented to that, to know each of the characters and starting to care for each of them. Since they are trapped, there isn’t too much going on around but the interactions with each other.

I didn’t like the Captain. I felt like he was too arrogant, I think that could be just my perception, but his self-confidence became a little too much for me. Maybe that’s because I like characters with some flaws and he was just so perfect, that wasn’t right for me, but I don’t think it would bother other readers.

The other characters were very nice. I liked the things I knew about them, but I also feel like I need to know more, which I think it’s great. Thomas made me laugh so much with some particular characteristic he had. Zachery was my favorite, just so angry and defiant, I loved him. There are other characters too but I don’t want to give too much away.

Although I did like the story, I felt like it was lacking something. I think I was expecting a little more explicit sex scenes. I wouldn’t consider this a romance. I didn’t see too much romance as I see lust.

In general, I liked the story, but I feel like it was left in the middle of something important. I’m glad it’s a part of a series, because I do want to know more about this character. As a first book in the series, I think it did a great job introducing the characters to the reader.

*I received a copy of this book from the Publisher in exchange of an honest review

This entry was posted in M/M.

Leave a Reply

