Review: Bought: A Ripples in the Status Quo Story (Ripples in the Status Quo #1) by by R. Phoenix

Bought: A Ripples in the Status Quo Story

 

Blurb

When he agreed to take the fall for his pack leader’s failed attempts to help the Rebellion, Jace knew he wouldn’t live long enough to regret it. However, instead of the noble end he envisioned for himself, the werewolf finds himself at the mercy of a witch and his depraved games. Though he clings to his conviction that he can withstand anything his new master can dish out, it isn’t long before he realizes pride has no place in his life as the pet of the controlling Elias Ivers.

Revised & expanded edition as of 3/22/16. Please note that content, publisher, and other aspects of the work have changed.

Bought is approximately 12,600 words.

(This dark erotica novella caters to those who cheer on the villains as they pursue their goals…no matter what it takes to get there. This includes Very Bad Things as well as Very Sexy Things.

Those with sensibilities will likely be offended and want to attack the author with flaming pitchforks. If this applies to you, save an author. Step away from the button.

Lightheartedness aside, this is dark erotica, and it does contain elements of depravity and cruelty that will be offensive to some readers. Please proceed with caution or skip this read.)

###

Please note that the RISQ world has little place for humanity, and as a result, content in these works may be offensive to some readers. They can be read as stand-alones or as serials in a larger story.

The suggested reading order for the RISQ books is:

1. Bought. [Dark Erotica]
2. Ravel. [Romance]
3. Recoil. [Dark Erotic Romance.]
4. Owned. [Dark Erotica. Follows events in Bought and Recoil.]

 

Review

This was a very good and very dark short story. I wasn’t expecting to like it that much, but I guess I found myself a new author to read. This was so amazing.

 

Jace is a werewolf who finds himself captured and at the mercy of Elias, a witch who enjoy playing games with him. He has to put his pride aside to endure the activities his new master has prepared for him.

 

This was so good. Once I started reading I couldn’t stop until I finished. I loved both characters for very different reasons. I like Jace because of his defiant attitude and the way he struggled to fight what his body ask him and what his reason say, it was so nice to see that fight. I guess he would be easily like by most readers, but I find hard to feel sorry for him.

Elias was my favorite, he was so delightfully wicked. I just loved how much fun he had playing with poor Jace. He had such a twisted mind that was fantastic try to figure him out. He remain a mystery until the end and that make him so much more intriguing.  I don’t know if exist, but I would love so much to read a story about him.

 

A fair warning, there is no romance here. It’s a very dark story and it contain subjects that might not be suitable to all readers.

 

I had an issue with the story but I guess it’s only me and it might not bother other readers. It contain puppy play and that’s just a no for me, I just can’t read that sort of scenes, but I must tell that, even with that, I really loved the story and I’m willing to pass that in order to keep reading about this characters.

 

In general I think it was really good and I think anyone who like dark themed story would be able to enjoy this story. I would certainly start looking for more titles of this author.

This entry was posted in M/M.

3 comments on “Review: Bought: A Ripples in the Status Quo Story (Ripples in the Status Quo #1) by by R. Phoenix

  1. I just wanted to stop by and say thank you for leaving a review. I’m so glad you enjoyed the book, and if you keep reading, I hope you enjoy the roller coaster ride. (There’s a brief nod to Bought in Ravel, but there’s no true puppy play again until Owned, where it’s interwoven into Chapter Three. Just as an FYI since this isn’t something you enjoy, so you know what you’re getting yourself into. <3)

    Thank you again! I really appreciate the time and the kind words.

    Like

    • it is something i don’t enjoy, but i would never stop reading a book i think it could be good for something like that, so i’m sure i’ll be reading it even with puppy play included

      Like

      • Gotcha. Just thought I’d give you fair warning. ❤ I don't usually do trigger warnings for (long series of reasons here), but when I know someone doesn't like something, I try to be nice. Thank you again! It was definitely a pleasant surprise to see your review!

        Like

Leave a Reply

