Review: The Runaway Model (The Runaway Model #1) by Parker Avrile

The Runaway Model (The Runaway Model, #1)

Blurb

Kyle’s music blog gets a boost from rumors about his affair with a closeted rock star, but his followers have no idea of the reality of his life on the streets of Vegas. Men? He only lets them get close enough to pick their pockets.

Until Bryce– a wildcatter who struck it rich in North Dakota. He wants one last wild weekend without the bodyguards hovering. The hustler with the sexy English accent seems perfect for no-strings sex. But now Bryce can’t get Kyle out of his head. Especially since that tempting smile is suddenly on every other magazine cover…

Kyle can steal a heart as easily as a precious sapphire. But can he keep the heart he stole once the truth is out about his past?

If you like contemporary gay romance with real characters in a setting that’s a little glitzy and a little gritty, you’ll love The Runaway Model. This full-length 75,000 novel is a complete in one volume, and it’s absolutely cliffhanger free.

 

Review

 

This was a nice book to read, it had some ups and downs but I enjoyed reading it.

I was a little lost at the first half of it and I wasn’t getting too interested by it, but there was something about it that made me keep reading and as I keep doing it, it got better and better. The last pages were very exciting and I couldn’t put it down.

I had the exact opposite feelings about the main characters. I loved Bryce, he was a likable character and his emotions are the ones I felt the most realistic. I think it lack a little development but I liked him a lot. Kyle, on the other side, was so annoying, I felt he was a little immature for his age, which I think it was on purpose, and sometimes it was ok, but some other was frustrating. I had a lot of trouble connecting with his emotions and in general, I didn’t care much for him.

The relationship between them was odd, I felt they were a bit disconnected, I don’t feel it was particularly romantic and they spent too little time together. Kyle always seemed to have his mind somewhere else, but never in Bryce and that was bothersome for me, I didn’t finished the book feeling love from each of them, I do believe they will get there, but right now, I’m not too convinced.

It did have some very interesting moments, the last pages were so exciting, some aspects a little unrealistic, but in general very entertaining. There was a character who I liked very much, a Kyle’s friend, I think he was great and the events around him were very nice to read, I can’t wait to know what will happen to him.

Overall was a nice book, I enjoyed it and I think I will be reading the next in the series because I really want to know what will happen the Kyle’s friend.

This entry was posted in M/M.

Leave a Reply

