Review: The Runaway Millions (The Runaway Model #2) by Parker Avrile

The Runaway Millions (The Runaway Model, #2)

 

Blurb

They’re the perfect couple until the money runs out…

Kyle, a rising model, is the toast of Manhattan. Bryce, a wildcatter who got rich in the Bakken gas fields, is an inch away from becoming America’s newest billionaire.

But their world is turned upside-down when a competing oil company wrests away Bryce’s business, his personal jet, and even his condo. Bryce has no choice but to scramble to save his career– even though a famous rock star is sniffing around in hopes of claiming Kyle for his own.

When Kyle steps forward to defend another model accused of a terrible crime, he’s deported. The tabloids follow him, happy to spread rumors about his alleged affairs with the beautiful and the famous of Europe.

Can love survive when one man is on his way up while the other is on his way down? When an ocean divides the lovers? When the gossip columns can’t help stirring the pot? The Runaway Millions is Book 2 in The Runaway Model trilogy. This 78,000 word full-length novel complete with a HEA can be read as a stand-alone but if you prefer to read the series in order, please start with The Runaway Model.

 

Review

 

I really liked this book, it got my attention faster than the first one, I liked this so much more. I think it was easier to get into the story because this time I already knew the characters, and that make me pay more attention to the plot, which was very interesting.

It had a nice pace, sometimes a bit slow and some faster, with a lot of action and interesting stuff going on. I felt like at times there was too much things going on, but I didn’t get lost in the story, it was very nice.

I had some issues about the main characters, I don’t know if it’s only me, but I had a really hard time trying to care about Bryce and Kyle. This time was a little different, now I feel like Kyle was a bit nicer than Bryce, perhaps because the book take more time on his point of view. They spent little time together and I’m still not too convinced about the feelings for each other. I don’t know, I just didn’t feel too much romance coming out of this relationship. But I did enjoyed the story and I did liked them, especially Kyle, a little more than I did in the first book. Bryce had a lot of troubles this time around, but it was nice to see the way he was handling it.

What was great for me in this book, were the secondary characters, I loved them so much. Stony, Irika and most of all Michel, were fantastic. I found myself expecting their appearances all the time. I just wanted to know about all of them, they were so good. I wasn’t too fond on Stony before, but this book give him a little more insight and now I want to know more of him. Irika was so fun to read, I loved every scene she was in. But the character I loved the most, even more than the main ones, was Michel, he was so good, very beautiful and painful to read. I wished I would get to know him a bit better, but I understand he wasn’t a main character and couldn’t get all the book for himself, but the time that was taken to tell his story was the part I enjoyed the most of this book.

Now I got this characters stuck and my mind, so I hope a new book would come soon.

In general I think l it was a very nice book to read, very entertaining and fun, I can see any reader having a good time reading it.

*I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through the DBML program of the M/M Romance group at goodreads.

This entry was posted in M/M.

Leave a Reply

