Review: He Is Worthy by Lisa Henry

He Is Worthy (Warriors of Rome, #2)

 

Blurb

 

Rome, 68 A.D. Novius Senna is one of the most feared men in Rome. He’s part of the emperor’s inner circle at a time when being Nero’s friend is almost as dangerous as being his enemy. Senna knows that better men than he have been sacrificed to Nero’s madness—he’s the one who tells them to fall on their swords. He hates what he’s become to keep his family safe. He hates Nero more.

Aenor is a newly-enslaved Bructeri trader, brutalized and humiliated for Nero’s entertainment. He’s homesick and frightened, but not entirely cowed. He’s also exactly what Senna has been looking for: a slave strong enough to help him assassinate Nero.

It’s suicide, but it’s worth it. Senna yearns to rid Rome of a tyrant, and nothing short of death will bring him peace for his crimes. Aenor hungers for revenge, and dying is his only escape from Rome’s tyranny. They have nothing left to lose, except the one thing they never expected to find—each other.

This title is part of the Warriors of Rome collection.

 

Review

 

This was an interesting story. I enjoyed most of it. It had something I wasn’t sure about it, but most of the book was really nice and I liked reading it.

Aenor was a great character. It was very easy to connect with his feelings most of the times and I liked the way he thinks. I didn’t felt the same way with Senna, I didn’t feel much sympathy for him, which made difficult to me, to see their relationship as believable. I do understand it from Aenor point of view, but I didn’t see it as truthful for Senna.

 

The plot was good, I love stories of intrigue and betrayal, and this one made a great job. There were some very interesting events, it might not be as I would expected it, but it was a nice to be surprised.

 

I really loved the historical part of it, I think it was what I liked the most of the book. The moment in time it was set, it felt very realistic, I liked everything about it, the language, the hierarchy, the way they act, I really loved that part.

 

In general it was a good book, I think reader who like historical books might easily like it. It had elements that some reader might find disturbing like violence, non/con and talk of suicide, so beware of it before reading.

This entry was posted in M/M.

Leave a Reply

