Review: Puppy by R. Phoenix

Puppy

 

Blurb

 

While other vampires glut themselves on the rewards of a world where humans are little more than food or entertainment, Liam has found himself bored with the new status quo. An attempt to alleviate his boredom brings him to Caleb, a man who’s willing to do what it takes to get out of the slums–even if it means becoming something less than human.

This peek into the Ripples in the Status Quo world is a standalone out of the timeline of the series.

###

From light to grey to dark, follow those who test and defy the status quo’s subjugation of humans. In a world where the supernatural reign supreme, only love can set off the ripples that could change this depraved world for the better. But will the cost be too high?

‘Bought,’ ‘Ravel,’ and ‘Recoil’ feature different characters whose lives begin to come together in ‘Owned’ and ‘Temper.’

Series:
1. Bought – Jace & Elias.
2. Ravel – Ashton & Reese.
3. Recoil – Khaz & Noah.
4. Owned – Khaz & Noah, Jace & Elias.
5. Temper – Ashton & Reese, Jace & Elias.

Standalones:
Puppy – Liam & Caleb

 

Review

 

This was a nice story, very very far from my comfort zone. Perhaps under different circumstances I wouldn’t read it, but I’d read some books from the author and I loved them, so, I decided to give it a try.

 

I enjoyed it, it had some interesting characters, but it was a little short and it didn’t allow to get to know too much of them, other than the present moment they were living. I would love to have a little backstory on them, especially on Caleb. Liam was a good character, he knew what he wanted and how to get it, and he was unapologetic about it, which was great. Caleb was a little more confusing for me, I liked him, but there were some features about him that weren’t appealing to me. I don’t think most readers would have problems with him, just the contraire, he was a very likable character.

 

The plot, was nice, it wasn’t too complex, but it was a nice reading. I enjoyed the way the characters react to the circumstances they were in. The relationship they shared as appropriated, really interesting, and it didn’t try to forced things, which I appreciate so much. The writing was great and I loved the world created by the author.

 

There is, obviously, the part of the puppy play, exactly the reason I thought I wouldn’t like it, but it was good, I actually enjoyed reading it, but there was something about Caleb that didn’t allow me to like it more.  I think that reader who like puppy play would really enjoy reading this story, I would definitely recommend it.

This entry was posted in M/M.

Leave a Reply

