Review: The Losing Game by Lane Swift

The Losing Game

 

Blurb

Winchester Crown Court, October 2035: Richard Shaw leaves, a free man.

Grief-stricken and angry, Lucas Green is hell-bent on revenge against Richard Shaw, who killed his sister. Lucas has heard of a man who can help—the handsome and urbane owner of a boutique sex shop with a head for planning crimes. But Dante Okoro has a past he’s desperate to keep buried. Though Lucas piques his interest in more ways than one, Dante turns him away. Still, he wonders if he made the right decision….

An unexpected death brings Dante and Lucas together once more. This time they can’t ignore the chemistry between them. But courting a lover with lies is a dangerous game. Dante has been spying on Lucas, convinced he has plans to kill Shaw. Lucas has been spying on Shaw, waiting for the right moment to strike. If Dante admits his suspicions to Lucas, he’ll surely lose him. If he doesn’t, Lucas might do something reckless—and end up losing everything.

 

Review

THE LOSING GAME is an interesting book; it had some nicely made characters and a great story. There was a feeling of grief throughout the story, but there was also some hope in it.

Lucas is seeking revenge against the man who killed her sister. But he can’t do it on his own. He thinks Dante Okoro is the right person to help him with his plan, but Dante is not sure if he wants to get involved. When sudden events put them together, Dante wonders if he took the right decision.

The plot was great, an amazing and very original idea. It’s not usual to see main characters act the way they did and it was nice to see them as flawed as any person would be. I loved that part. I also loved how unexpected some events were; there was a lot going on that I didn’t see coming. I loved the way the book was able to surprise me.

It was an interesting concept. I’m always attracted by flawed characters, and from the book’s description, I could see this pair wasn’t going to be the all-perfect kind of main character. But, at least for me, it all ended up with the possibility of something great. However, I wasn’t able to enjoy the story too much. I had a real hard time trying to connect feelings with the characters. I just wasn’t perceiving anything from them and that made the story a little monotonous. The pace was slow and it was also hard to get involved in the story.

One of the things I liked the most from the book were the secondary characters, especially the female characters. I think they were great and I just couldn’t get enough of them.

The relationship between Lucas and Dante was nice. I didn’t get strong feelings, but it was believable under the circumstances they were living and I think it ended up with the promise of more and I appreciate those possibilities. They had some beautiful moments together.

Overall it was a nice book. It has some great elements and even though I had some issues with it, I think there would be a lot of readers who will enjoy it.

 

The Romance Review

This entry was posted in M/M.

Leave a Reply

