Review: Withered + Sere by T.J. Klune

Withered + Sere (Immemorial Year, #1)

 

Blurb

Once upon a time, humanity could no longer contain the rage that swelled within, and the world ended in a wave of fire.

One hundred years later, in the wasteland formerly known as America, a broken man who goes only by the name of Cavalo survives. Purposefully cutting himself off from what remains of civilization, Cavalo resides in the crumbling ruins of the Northern Idaho Correctional Institution. A mutt called Bad Dog and a robot on the verge of insanity comprise his only companions. Cavalo himself is deteriorating, his memories rising like ghosts and haunting the prison cells.

It’s not until he makes the dangerous choice of crossing into the irradiated Deadlands that Cavalo comes into contact with a mute psychopath, one who belongs to the murderous group of people known as the Dead Rabbits. Taking the man prisoner, Cavalo is forced not only to face the horrors of his past, but the ramifications of the choices made for his stark present. And it is in the prisoner that he will find a possible future where redemption is but a glimmer that darkly shines.

The world has died.

This is the story of its remains.

Illustrated by Blake Dorner.

 

Review

 

This was an amazing book, it’s definitely one of the best I’ve read, not only this year but in general. It had the most magnificent characters. I was impressed by how original and diverse they were. I loved the way they communicate with each other, it was one of the things I liked most of the book.

The plot was a little confusing, I didn’t really understood where the story was going, but still I felt completely captivated by the character. The dead rabbit was my favorite, it was great to see someone so different. He’s one of the most appealing characters I’ve ever read, such a mystery around him, such and intriguing mind and the fact that he doesn’t even said a word, it was just amazing.

Cavalo was nice, but I couldn’t care for him as much I did for the other MC. The secondary characters were also great, especially bad dog. He surely take the spotlight from Cavalo, I loved the way he thinks, it was so special.

There were some confusing moments, but as I kept reading I start to understand them. By the end of the book I think I got to fully understand Cavalo, but he certainly remain as a mystery from most of the book. I think it was important to happen that way and it made the book more interesting. I also enjoyed the illustratrions, they were great. The first to appeard was stunning.

Overall an amazing book, I would definitely recommend it to readers that are looking for complex characters, enjoy reading dark dystopian stories and who wouldn’t mind reading violent scenes.

This entry was posted in M/M.

Leave a Reply

