Review: Crisped + Sere (Immemorial Year #2) by T.J. Klune

Crisped + Sere (Immemorial Year, #2)

 

BLURB

Twenty-one days.

In a world ravaged by fire and descending into madness, Cavalo has been given an ultimatum by the dark man known as Patrick: return Lucas to him and the cannibalistic Dead Rabbits, or the town of Cottonwood and its inhabitants will be destroyed.

But Lucas has a secret embedded into his skin that promises to forever alter the shape of things to come—a secret that Cavalo must decide if it’s worth dying over, even as he wrestles with his own growing attraction to the muted psychopath.

Twenty-one days.

Cavalo has twenty-one days to prepare for war. Twenty-one days to hold what is left of his shredded sanity together. Twenty-one days to convince the people of Cottonwood to rise up and fight back. Twenty-one days to unravel the meaning behind the marks that cover Lucas.

A meaning that leads to a single word and a place of unimaginable power: Dworshak.

 

REVIEW

I’m completely in love with this book and mostly, with this amazing characters. I love the first one and I loved this one just as much, if not better.

 

This time it was easier for me to get involved in the plot, I understand by now where the story was going, which was a bit confusing in the first book. It had so much action, not an element I generally like, but it worked perfectly for the plot. It had some extremely exciting moments. It was darker than the first book, a little more violent, but also more intriguing and exciting.

 

The characters just as amazing as I remember. I loved Lucas, he is one of the most interesting characters I’ve ever read, and to see his little moments of tenderness was beautiful. Every emotion that came from him was so powerful, it was a delight to read such a magnificent character.

 

I’ve learn to love Cavalo a bit more in this book. I wasn’t too impressed by him before, but something change for me in this book. I really care for him so much more. The relationship with Lucas was stunning, I don’t have word to express how much I loved these two together and how much I suffer the moments they were apart.

 

Bad dog was an extra bonus, what a great character, absolutely adorable, he made me laugh so many times. It was great to see how a non-human character can be so great, same as SIRS. Patrick was also great, a little disturbing how calm he was sometimes, a true sociopath. It was so nice to hate him, I truly hate him so much.

 

I have no negative thoughts on this book, it was a joy to read it and, just as Whitered+Sere, one of the best books I’ve ever read. I will definitely be looking for more books from the author.

 
*Book provided by NetGalley.

This entry was posted in M/M.

Leave a Reply

