Review: Better the Devil You Know by Bey Deckard

Better the Devil You Know

BLURB

Novel (40 000 words)
Genre(s): Horror, torture, paranormal, serial killer

Tags: graphic torture, murder, forced incest, rape

Byron is tall, handsome, well spoken, wealthy, and has outstanding taste in wine and food. You’ll be impressed by his impeccable attire and eloquence in conversation, ranging from Baroque art to the newest advances in pharmacology. With his charming smile and elegant manners, Byron truly is the perfect date… and who doesn’t love a man who appreciates opera?

What’s the catch, you ask?

Just this: if Byron finds you suitable, he will subject you to utterly depraved forms of torture.

No, I’m not talking about S&M.

Byron will mutilate, rape, and then kill you. Don’t think that you will survive the encounter, because you won’t. He has a perfect record.

Intrigued? Would you like me to arrange a rendezvous? It has to be in the next few days because he’s leaving on a trip south to much warmer climes, and his calendar will be completely full.

Yes? Very good. I will make a reservation for two under the name of Smith.

Who am I? I’m Gloria, his personal assistant.

 

 

REVIEW

 
This was amazing. For a moment I thought it was going to be a little too much for me, after reading that first scene, but I’m glad I pushed myself trough it because I really enjoyed it.

The different points of view were an interesting touch, I loved each of the characters that were presented. It was a very dark and twisted story, something that I generally like. This wasn’t different, I liked it very much, but there was something about Byron that wasn’t right for me. The reason I didn’t liked him was that I had a really hard time having any empathy for him, It might be a good thing since he was such a sociopath, but I love when I have strong feelings for the MC, and I couldn’t either love or hate Byron. The other characters, sure, I did care and felt sympathy for them, all of them. There was one that I liked the most, the one who accompanies him for most of the book, but I don’t want to give spoilers away so I won’t say anything about him.

There were some redeeming elements in Byron, I really loved the calm he kept through most of the book, and how calculated he was, the way he liked everything just perfect. It reminded me a villain I loved in an Argentine the mini-series who shared some of his sadistic tendencies. Any character who makes me think of that was will always have a spot in my heart.

The story was fantastic, It had some amazing twists, so interesting and so unexpected, completely different from what I thought it would be. It’s clearly not for any reader, I would recommend to read and take very seriously the tags, but if after reading them, you are ok with keep reading the book, then this one is a great one.

This entry was posted in M/M.

Leave a Reply

