Review: My Boyfriend’s Back by Elliot Cooper

My Boyfriend's Back

 

BLURB

After losing both of his parents, Academy of Magecraft student Steven Durant doesn’t want to see anyone else lose a loved one before their time. Traditional resurrection methods, however, only create mindless, flesh-hungry zombies; they’re no cure for death. He’s certain his unique brand of necromancy—using alchemy and blood magic—is the only answer.

When his boyfriend, Dax Everhart, has a fatal accident, Steven sees no choice but to use his experimental Lazarus Elixir. Dax comes back wrong, but the more humans he consumes, the more human he becomes.

With the help of his best friends, his ghostly aunt, and her living doll homunculus, Steven fights to regain normalcy and repair his shattered relationship with Dax. But with Dax openly embracing his monstrous nature, Steven shoulders the guilt of assisting in a murder spree that could lead the mundane and magical police right to their door.

 

REVIEW

This was very far for what I was expecting, it was a very great surprise. I had so much fun reading it. I was glad to see the large range of emotion this book made me feel. It was full of ups and downs and I could never have guess where the story would go, it was fantastic.

 

It was a mixed of a paranormal and contemporary world that I generally don’t like, but It was very well made and I enjoyed it. The plot was amazing, so unexpected, every twist it had come as an absolute surprise to me, sometimes good one and others not so much, but amazing either way.

 

The characters were great, I liked Steven and Dax just fine, all the things they had to go through were devastating, definitely an emotion I wouldn’t expect in a story like this one, but very much appreciated.  It took me places in my mind I didn’t want to go, but it was really good. There was something about them that made hard to believe in true feelings for each other for most of the story, but I think it was on purpose and under the book circumstances worked perfectly.

 

Even though I did liked the main characters, I was absolutely in love with Catrina and Hattie, the moments they were on page were the ones I enjoyed the most, I wasn’t expecting that sort of characters but I loved them so much, they were a joy to read.

Overall a great story, I would recommend it to any reader who enjoy paranormal books.

 

* I Received copy of this book from the publisher in exchange of an honest review.

This entry was posted in M/M.

Leave a Reply

