Review: Tempest (Playing the Fool #3) by Lisa Henry and J.A. Rock

Tempest (Playing the Fool, #3)

 

BLURB

 

Something wicked this way comes.

FBI Agent Ryan “Mac” McGuinness and con man Henry Page are on the run again. This time they’re headed back to where it all began: Altona, Indiana. Population: some goats. Henry’s not happy about lying low at the McGuinness family farm, but they’ve got nowhere else to go.

While Mac fights to clear his name and Henry struggles with whose side he’s really on, a ghost from the past threatens to destroy everything. And those aren’t the only storms on the radar. Cut off from both sides of the law, Mac and Henry must rely on their tenuous partnership to survive.

If Henry can convince himself to let Mac see the man behind the disguises, they’ll stand a chance of beating the forces that conspire against them. The course of true love never did run smooth, but for the two of them, it might be their only hope.

 

REVIEW

 

I had so much fun with this book, it was great. Just as entertaining as the other, I think this has been my favorite in the series.

I love the main characters, Henry is just so fun, but there was something about this book that take a little from him, I felt like he was a bit more serious than he was in the others, but still some very funny moments. It was interesting to see Mac in the situation he was in, and the interaction with the new characters was just so amazing, I loved them all.

It was very intriguing, it’s the plot I liked the most in the series, I just couldn’t have guess the twist that were coming, it was very good. I’m very mad with some of the events that happened, but I still appreciate the way the authors had the ability to create such strong emotions. I won’t say more for possible spoilers.

The relationship between Mac and Henry (I keep thinking about them as Mac and Cheese, I can’t help it) has growth so much, there are still some issues but is great to see where they are standing now. Hard to believe the relationship has developed in such short time, but is still very believable how they care for each other.

I listen to the audio book, I’m not used to it that much, but since I listen to the previous books, I just felt like I should keep doing it for this one too. I think the narrator made an amazing job, it was so easy to perceive the emotions from the way he was telling the story, especially from Henry, who seemed to show a greater range of emotions. I loved everything about the narration and the book.

This entry was posted in M/M.

Leave a Reply

