Review: The Maddest of Men by Ofelia Gränd

 

BLURB

To prove his loyalty to Cham, Grayham is willing to do anything, and he does. He helps Cham run his empire by finding out the truth by any possible means. It’s not as hard as it may seem, all he has to do is ask the right questions, and his internal polygraph will tell him if someone is lying or not. And when they lie—well he deals with that too. Life as an executioner can get quite lonely, not that Grayham plans on doing anything about it. It would kill him to have to off a lover.
Creed is a retrieving agent on a mission. He is to infiltrate one of Carona’s drug organisations to get to the inquisitor. Rumour states the man with the fiery red curls has supernatural powers; it also says anyone coming close to him disappears. Creed has no idea how he’s going to make it out alive or why his supervisor sent him in without backup. But, when an opening to work as a waiter on one of the drug lord’s parties presents itself Creed sets to work.

In a world where people compensate for the years of bombings and starvation with clinic bought physical perfection a man with crooked teeth and mismatching eyes stands out. Grayham notices the waiter watching him straight away. If he’s there to harm Cham, he’ll deal with it. Creed knows he must get his hands on the inquisitor so when he is invited to the man’s flat he agrees to come even though he knows it might be the last thing he’ll ever do.

Note: This story contains graphic violence, on page death of secondary character, and sex acts between male adults.

REVIEW

This was such a nice book to read, I loved it. I think it meant to be a little darker than it actually was but I still had a great time reading it.

The book was sort of darkish, it does feature a killer as the main character, but he seemed rather bored doing his job. It was the other aspects of Grayham that made me feel so attracted by the beautiful character. He was just too cute, so truly sweet that I had a hard time trying to find his dark side. I felt the same way for almost the whole book, but near the end I stared to see his other side. The moments of secrecy he had help to create the feeling of darkness I was expecting. I loved this character he was amazing, he was what I loved the most of the book.

Creed was also fun to read, he felt a little incompetent in his job, I think I felt this way because he was so easily scared, but he was also a nice character, maybe not as sweet as Grayham, but still a nice one.

One of the things I found very intriguing was the relationship between Grayham and Cham, I wished I would have more time of them together, I loved them.

The plot was nice, some intriguing moments, It kept me guessing until the end. But more than the plot I enjoyed the relationship between Grayham and Creed, I loved the way they interact, and I’m not always to fond on relationships that start so fast, but I did loved this one, such beautiful characters, I really enjoyed reading this book.

Another thing I liked  was the cover, I think it captures perfectly the essence of the book, I get from the cover the exact same feeling I got from the book.

In general, a great book, I would recommend it almost to any reader, the only reason I wouldn’t recommend it to all is because it has some graphic violent moments that not all readers will be ok with, so beware of that before reading. But other than that, it was great, I really enjoyed reading it.

This entry was posted in M/M.

Leave a Reply

