Review: Buried Desires 2 by Ofelia Gränd and Amy Spector

Buried Desires 2

 

BLURB

BURIED DESIRES 2 – A Horror Double Feature
MORE UNIQUE STORIES OF LOVE AND OBSESSION

Continuing a new horror tradition, Buried Desires 2 presents another pairing of romance and terror in two brand new stories.

Follow the continuing tales of Christopher and Vic, and Jett and Josh in this new collection that’s just perfect for the season.

From fun to frightening, Buried Desires 2 offers up a little something for every horror taste.

*** Includes the special BONUS story Deadly Secrets – Deadly Sugar Book 1.5 and links for two Hidden Chapter short stories ***

Deadly Lies – Deadly Sugar Book 2

After being betrayed by his husband in the most unimaginable way, Josh has only three things on his mind; grab his son, find help, and get out. When Josh can’t get to his son the plan to save them both becomes a little more complicated.

But things are not always as they appear. A chance encounter gives Josh hope but it also raises a lot of questions. Can Josh get away from his husband with his son and sanity intact? The things revealed will change the future for everyone.

*** Includes special link for BONUS Hidden Chapter short story Deadly First

Dates (Deadly Sugar Book 2.5) ***

Body of Work – Cold Fingers Book 2

Life with Vic isn’t exactly what Christopher Minnick was expecting. His boyfriend has given him a new lease on life – literally – but he doesn’t have a job, Jessie thinks he’s a ghost, and there are only so many closets on hand for shoving Jonathan into. Now, with Lee back in the limelight, things just might become more than Christopher can handle.

Lee Hellstrom is hitting the big screen after more than three decades and, with the much younger Grant Cooper at his side on the red carpet, he plans to make a lasting impression. The only problem is that not all the attention Lee has drawn is good.

When Lee goes missing, it’s up to Christopher, Vic and Grant to save the old man from a most horrible of fates.

Christopher’s life may not have been perfect, but his death is a pain in the ass.

*** Includes special link for BONUS Hidden Chapter short story Dalton Sikes Finds a Body (Grant Cooper Book 2/Cold Fingers Book 2.5) ***

 

REVIEW

 

Deadly Lies

 

This was so terrifying, it was so exciting, I just couldn’t stop reading. It started with Deadly Secrets, a prologue to Deadly Lies, and since I started reading I was totally hook and so terribly scared.

The relationship between Jett and Josh was so beautiful, there was so much love and it was very easy to understand it from the reaction both of them had, even under the circumstances they were in.

The betray was something so vivid, always present in the story, but with so much differences for each of the characters and with some very interesting responses to it.

I had such ambivalent feeling for Josh and Jett. There were moments In the story I took didn’t knew which side to take, I think the author made a fantastic job creating such a sympathetic characters that made it so hard for me to know which of them I wanted to support, and either side I took, I always second guess myself because I felt so sorry for the other guy, It was so heartbreaking for me.

I can’t say I had a favorite character here, both were great, both really likable and the lovely way they care for each other was amazing.

The story is very fast pace, extremely exciting and most of all very scary. It’s a roller-coaster of emotions and an absolute must read to anyone who love horror stories

 

Body of Work

 

I had a little trouble getting myself into this story, but once I was capture by it, I couldn’t stop reading, it was really great. There were a few moments at the beginning that were a little confusing, I think I should re-read Cold Fingers before start with this one, because I remembered little, and that might be the reason I had  issues getting into the story, but once I get to know the characters I really care a lot for them. I feel like I want to know a little more of some of them, they were so interesting.

This story is center a little more in the mystery and a little less in the scary part, It was ok for me, I generally like mystery a bit more and the book was very good in that part. I enjoyed were the story went.  The pace was a little slow at the beginning but it gets faster after the first half.

Christopher felt a little mystery to me, I liked it that way. But I didn’t feel like he was particularly likable. My favorite character was one that I didn’t get to know enough, I’m not saying his name because I don’t want to spoil this to any reader, but I knew a bit more of him near the end of the book, I couldn’t help to feel sorry for him and the things he had to live. I would love, so much, to know more of him, but even the short time I got to really know him, he seemed like a great character.

 

Overall, both stories are great, I had a great time reading them. In Deadly Lies the bittersweet emotions and the horror were my favorite part and in Body of Work were the fantastic secondary characters it had, I wish I get to know more of them. This might not be a book suitable to all readers, but for the ones who enjoy horror, this is a great option, I would definitely recommend it.

 

*I received an ARC of this book in exchange of an honest review

This entry was posted in M/M.

Leave a Reply

