First and First (Five Boroughs #3) by Santino Hassell

First and First (Five Boroughs, #3)

 

BLURB

Caleb Stone was raised on the Upper East Side, where wealth and lineage reigns, and “alternative lifestyles” are hidden. It took him years to come out to his family, but he’s still stuck in the stranglehold of their expectations. Caleb knows he has to build his confidence and shake things up, but he doesn’t know how… until Oliver Buckley enters the picture.

Oli is everything Caleb isn’t—risk-taking, provocative, and fiercely independent. Disowned by his family, Oli has made his own way in the world and is beholden to no one. After a chance encounter on New Year’s Eve, Caleb is smitten.

As Caleb sheds the insecurities that have held him back for years, he makes bold steps toward changing his career and escaping years of sexual repression. But for Caleb to take full control of his life, he has to be brave enough to confront his feelings and trust Oli with his heart.

 

REVIEW

This was a great book. I remember a conversation where someone ask if a book could be consider a good one if the reader doesn’t like the main character?. For me, this one was a perfect example of my answer to that question. I loved the book, I think it was really good, but I just couldn’t stand Caleb, I try so hard to care for him, but I just can’t force what’s not there.

I have some reasons for my dislike. Since the story is told from his point of view, the reader have great insight of the way he thinks, which is what bother me most. He seemed very judgmental and so easy to criticize other people behavior. I understood why he thinks the way he does, but it doesn’t make it any nicer to my eyes. He had some redeemed elements, I think the personal growth he had was amazing. One of the biggest issues I had against him was David, I started realizing how unfair he was when they were together, I’m not taking blame away from David but I’m not being complitely objective either because I have a soft spot for him, I feel very protective and it made me take his side whatever the battle is. My general thoughts on Caleb, an amazing character, but surely not my favorite.

Oli, on the other hand, was fantastic. I don’t think there was a thing about him I didn’t like, even when he acted trying to hurt others, it felt like was his insecurities taking the control He was very similar to Caleb on that matter. . I swallow my protectiveness towards David when he was involved. I loved everything about him, he was so sweet, and so messed up behind the self-confidence cover he put to everyone else. It was so nice to see such character.

The relationship between them was beautiful, sure it was full of some so incredibly hot moments, I loved the black magic scene, but the tender moments between them were the ones that had me smiling, I really loved them together.

I liked a secondary character so much, Ashton was so lovely, I hope I can know more of him in future books. It was really a great book, I’ll be reading the next in the series soon, I’m really hook on this characters.

This entry was posted in M/M.

Leave a Reply

