Review: Max by Bey Deckard

Max

 

BLURB

Novella (49,000 words)
Genre(s): transgressive, psychopath, dark erotica, QUILTBAG

Fresh out of school, Dr. Crane takes on a new patient who both intrigues and unnerves him. Charming, manipulative, and amoral, Max has exactly the sort of mind Crane finds himself drawn to with fictional characters.

As Max weaves himself into Crane’s life, Crane realizes that while fiction might be safe, Max certainly is not.

When the professional line between them thins, who gets to define where one man ends and the other begins?

 

 

REVIEW

This was so good. I really loved it. I have mixed feelings about it at the beginning, but most of all I really loved it.

I like to think I have very few limits about books, but this one surely touch one of the subjects that would make me stop reading a book. I really try very hard to feel any sympathy for Crane, but I fail awfully. I just couldn’t stand him. His conduct was extremely reproachable and he is at the top of my list of characters I dislike.

Max, on the other hand was a delight to read. The author made a magnificent job with his personality traits. Just an amazing character. So intriguing, an absolute beauty since the first chapter. He was so disturbing to me at that first chapter, I feel for a moment I would dislike him, he made me feel so uncomfortable. Gladly that feeling went away very fast I ended up loving him.

The plot is fantastic, full of great twists, so much unexpected events, it was great. Also a lot of feelings involved. The whole book is really good, I did had a little trouble getting myself into the story, but this was mostly because of Crane’s conduct that made me think about it, before keep reading, but that is because of personal issues and I think most reader probably will like him a lot, I just could help to want him to be punished, but again, it might be just me thinking this way.  The last pages were the greatest part, I just couldn’t stop reading it, it was truly an amazing book.

I would recommend to any reader who like dark theme stories, there isn’t much of a romance here but a little twisted and truly great story.

This entry was posted in M/M.

Leave a Reply

