Review: If I Should Stumble by Claire Davis and Al Stewart

If I Should Stumble

 

BLURB

Love is sure and timeless and forever. It whispers over the morning coffee and the last thought before sleep. Love is beyond hope, and cruel as life.

Kaz has been in the UK for almost a year, but the days pass by in an endless round of alcohol and nothingness. He has a story but no words good or bad enough to tell it, until one day, he is assigned a new peer mentor who asks him to help train a sponsored running team. Something that was stretched as old parchment breaks inside, and memories begin to re-surface.

Zack is overjoyed when his friend Adam asks him to be part of the sponsored run team trying to make money for the local homeless shelter. All day he makes cakes to lighten people’s load, but something is missing from his life. Then he meets the boy with eyes like the desert, and with every step he runs, Zack’s light burns away the darkness in Kaz’s heart.

As the race heats gets nearer, Tork, Adam, Zack and Jo realise that under Kaz’s careful programme, they have a chance to qualify and set right some of the wrongs of this world.

This book features the characters Tork and Adam from The Invasion of Tork and The Invasion of Adam.

 

 

REVIEW

 

I loved Kaz, this was so lovely. He was such a sweet character, I just loved him so much. I find a little hard to put in words why he was so great, he just felt right. The despair, was so easy to feel. The apparently careless attitude, how much a simple word could meant for him, every little detail was beautiful about him. And then there was also Zack, how he react to Zack’s kindness. Just so much nice things about him.

 

Zach was also a great character. I had a little issue how easily was in “babe” terms, but I guessing it might be more a cultural thing than I just don’t get so much. It was a little bothersome at times, but I think I got used to it. Anyway he was great.

 

At this book I was amazed by how much I loved Adam, I don’t think I had appreciated him so much in previous book as such a fun character, as I did in this one. I loved every single intervention he had, he was so fun, and I loved his moments with Tork, who is also amazing.

 

The story was apparently a simple one, a group of friends trying to prepare themselves for a race, but when we get to see what’s behind Kaz’s mind, the magic starts working.  The complexity of what he was going through was fantastic. The fact that the reader finished the book with so much questions can be both good and bad. Bad because, at least I, wanted to know so much more about him, but it was also good because it left so much to interpretation and can be whatever the reader want it to be.

 

Another great book from the authors, I just can’t get enough of them, I couldn’t recommend it enough. . Another beautiful thing about it was the cover, I loved it.

This entry was posted in M/M.

Leave a Reply

