Review: Taboo (Taboo, #1) by Kol Anderson

Taboo (Taboo, #1)

 

Jake Ross never had it easy. He’s learned to accept he won’t have the life his friends have. With an abusive alcoholic for a father and a younger brother far too good for this world, all Jake focuses on is keeping his kid brother safe.

But when their father goes one step too far and introduces Weldon to their lives, it sets off a series of events that will change all their lives.

**Trigger Warnings**
Graphic depictions of rape, incest, violence.
Dub con, non con, abuse, childhood trauma, self-harm.
Dark themes throughout.

Author Note: HEED. THE. WARNING.
This is a messed up book.

 

REVIEW

 

This was so good. I just couldn’t stop reading. The tension building was amazing. It got me on the edge the whole time. I’ve read other books from the author, but this is definitely one of my favorites.

It was a truly unexpected series of events. I liked the different POV, maybe Trey was the less impressive, but it was nice to see how Jake was seen by the outside world. Weldon…he was a mind-blowing character, I still wonder what’s inside that mind. I’m very interested on knowing more of him. Jake was stunning, the pain was so palpable. It was just impossible not to care for him, and there was also so much mixed feelings about him, because obviously I felt sorry for him and want things go right for him, but on the other hand he suffer beautifully. So, I don’t know what to think about him, I can’t wait to see what comes next.

The plot was great, really twisted, and yet, sadly realistic. I do recommend to anyone interest in reading this book to pay serious attention to the warnings, there is not a sweet story hidden behind that beautiful cover, this is very dark and the warnings are to be taken very seriously.

I have to admit I felt like I hated the author after reaching the end of the book and finding: end of part I. My mistake because now I can see in the tittle that is only a #1 on a series, but I can’t be blame, because I want more, and I want it now. This was great, I can’t wait for more.

This entry was posted in M/M.

Leave a Reply

