Review: Misfits by Garrett Leigh

Misfits (Urban Soul, #1)

 

LAMBDA FINALIST 2015

Restaurant owner Tom Fearnes has loved his partner Cass for as long as he can remember, but their work often keeps them apart. When he meets a striking young man named Jake on the vibrant streets of Camden Town, their heady first encounter takes an unexpected turn.

Jake Thompson can hardly believe his luck when he wakes up in Tom’s bed. Tom is gorgeous, kind, and . . . taken. Tom’s explanation of his open relationship leaves Jake cold, but Tom is too tempting, and when hard times force Jake to accept Tom’s helping hand, he finds himself between two men who’ve lost their way.

Cass Pearson is a troubled soul. He loves Tom with all he has, but some days it feels like he hasn’t much to give. Jake seems like the perfect solution. Cass risks everything to push Jake and Tom together, but Jake resists, wary, until the darkness of Cass’s past comes to call. Then Jake finds himself the last man standing, and it’s time to dig deep and shine a light for the men he’s grown to love.

 

REVIEW

 

I wish I could say I loved it like everybody else, but that just isn’t true. I liked some parts, I enjoyed reading it, but I just didn’t loved it.

I think most of the problem for me was at the beginning. I have a bit of a trouble getting myself into the story. I felt a little bored by it at some point, but I kept reading expecting it to get better and it did. I don’t like MMM and it might be part of the reason I wasn’t too much into the story. I’ll admit that, contrary to what I would expect, it didn’t felt like cheating. But still is not the kind of relationship I liked the most. I like going out of my comfort zone at times, and this book was a good example how a romantic dynamic I’m not comfortable with, can also have some great elements I happen to enjoy a lot.

The relationship was nice. It developed at a realistic pace and the doubts present at some point were understandable. I liked the interactions between the characters and that’s what brings me to the part that I loved the most about this book, the characters.

Tom was a little boring to me, I guess that’s another reason I had issues with the book, maybe if it would have begun with other character’s point of view I would have been more interested on it from the start. I don’t have anything against him, I just didn’t care for him as I did for Jake and Cass. Jake was an amazing character, he was my favorite. It was great to see the TS portray, and how Jake’s world didn’t turn around it. The story was more oriented to the relationships dynamics and not that particular feature of who he was, I found that just great. Cass was also amazing, but It took me a while to care for him, maybe because he felt so absent all the time, I think the author made a great job on that matter, because I could really felt the frustration of wanting to get close to someone and don’t have the opportunity. It help me feel a little more sympathy for Tom. Once I got to know Cass better, I could see why everyone care so much for him, he was fantastic.

Overall I think it was a great book, I think most people would be able to enjoy it. As I mention I’m not big fan of MMM but I still enjoyed reading it and it felt like a very well made story, most people can like.

This entry was posted in M/M.

Leave a Reply

