Review: Ten in the Bin by N.R. Walker

Ten in the Bin

 

A short story, approx. 12.5K words.

Heartbroken, Dean Cartwright leaves Sydney and heads home, to the coastal town of Newcastle. In a bid to make new friends, he signs up for a local rugby league team where he meets a man known as Macca.

Dean and Macca are both front row forwards, meaning they’re the biggest guys on the team. Over six feet tall and over a hundred kilos each, they’re a force to be reckoned with on the field.

But when Dean gets knocked out, Macca gets even by punching the other guy, and both Dean and Macca end up on the sideline.

Dean soon realizes that being knocked unconscious is the best thing to ever happen to him.

Story is set in Australia, and uses Australian English

 

REVIEW

 

It was ok. I enjoyed it, but I don’t think it will be on my mind for a lot of time.
The characters were nice, but I simply didn’t felt too much emotions coming from either of them. It was more like a taking advantage of an opportunity more than real feelings between them and it made it difficult to really care for Dean and Macca as a couple.

I liked the sport part. I love sports but is a bit hard for me to enjoy books with such themes, maybe because I need them to be really accurate or because I don’t think about the players as romance heroes when I’m watching a sport, but this time I really liked it.

The plot wasn’t too complex, it was easy to enjoy. It can be easily like by most reader looking for a free of angst book. I might haven’t enjoyed it as much, but I’m intrigued by the author and I’ll be looking for more books.

This entry was posted in M/M.

Leave a Reply

