Review: A Love Like Blood by Victor Yates

A Love Like Blood

Half Somali and Cuban, 17-year old Carsten Tynes, deals with the intricacies of race, Americanism, syncretism, and sexuality under the abusive hand of his father in A Love Like Blood. Carsten’s camera is the thread that slowly unravels his relationship with his father and reveals the unseen world of men who move at night. When death pushes his boyfriend and father together into an abandoned camera store, he makes a dangerous move to save them.

REVIEW

I had a bit of a hard time getting myself into the story. I think it wasn’t the right book for me. I did enjoyed a lot of parts of it.

One of the things I liked the most, was the cultural background. It was something I’ve never read about and it was very interesting getting to know other people’s beliefs. There was a lot of hate against women, not display as physical violence, but the way men were criticized for of having any feature that was consider women-like, felt very relevant and extremely realistic. There was some other parts that showed, in a very subtle way, how important the man was for that culture. I noticed that when Carsten refer to his father, most of the times, the word father was written in capital letter. I don’t know if it was intended that way, but I felt like it was a way to give power to the name, something God-like, opposite to the mother’s figure that was absent for most of the book.

The writing was good, but I find the pace a little slow and that made it a little hard to read for me. One of the biggest problems I have with the book, was the fact that it was very difficult to connect with any emotions. There was a melancholic feeling the whole time, but other than that, I feel like there was an important lack of emotions in the characters.

I didn’t like Brett, I think he was unable to understand Carsten’s situation and I don’t think he even try. I didn’t felt like the romance part was an important part of the book, but I guess it was intended that way. I really didn’t mind, I wasn’t looking for romance here.

In general it was ok, I didn’t liked it that much, but I think a lot of reader would enjoy it. As I mention, the writing is really good.

*I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through the DBML program of the M/M Romance group at goodreads.

This entry was posted in M/M.

Leave a Reply

