Review: Bad Things by Varian Krylov

Bad Things

 

Xavier makes a lot of people nervous. The rest, he flat-out scares. More than his hulking, tattooed body, it’s his predator’s gaze that makes people feel vulnerable, as if he had the power to read their thoughts and see their soul. For his lovers, it’s Xavier’s ravenous appetite for all things carnal—for the taste of flesh under his tongue and the feel of a trembling body under his control, for whispered pleas and muffled cries—that makes him dangerous.

But recently, driven by a festering rage against the men who attacked his sister a decade ago, Xavier has developed a taste for a different kind of hunt and conquest: stalking men who do truly bad things and punishing the predators he sniffs out. The problem with vigilante justice, though, is sometimes the man in your trap is innocent.

Carson suspects he’s playing a risky game with dangerous men. But the lies are convincing, especially when they’re slipped to him among hundred dollar bills. He never guessed how big and dark the secret hidden under all the lies and money could be. And he has no idea he’s not the predator, but the prey, until it’s too late.

And you can’t beg for mercy when there’s a gag in your mouth.

But when Carson escapes from Xavier’s trap, he’s forced to accept that Xavier is far from his most dangerous enemy. Xavier may even hold the key to overcoming the painful past that has kept Carson prisoner for almost two decades.

 

REVIEW

 

This book was amazing. It had some ups and downs for me, but overall I really enjoyed reading it. Is the second book I read from the author and both have been great.

The things I didn’t liked about it were few, I had some trouble with the pace, sometimes it was a little too slow and I felt desperate for something to happen. Another thing that was an issue for me were the constant cursing in Spanish. It just didn’t felt right, it wasn’t the way someone would say the things he said and it was very distracting for me. I would prefer if he just didn’t speak any Spanish, it would have been less disturbing and I don’t think it would mean a big change for the plot. I guess that’s all I didn’t like, not much really and I don’t think most reader would have the same issues I had.

For the things I liked. First, the plot. I think the book descriptions makes a great job keeping some of the mystery hidden. There were some things that I really didn’t see coming and I was very pleased by it. Such an interesting subject to be put on the spotlight, I can’t say much without give some spoilers, but I really liked the investigation part. The writing was another thing I enjoyed a lot, it was beautifully done.

What I liked the most about it were the characters. Both main characters were absolutely stunning. The psychology behind the way they think and act was brilliant, very complex and it was a joy as a reader to unravel the layers of those beautiful minds. I have a great time trying to understand them I loved seeing the growth they had. Also the emotions were very easily felt, mostly from Carson, who was my favorite. The relationship between Xavier and Carson was great, it is difficult to explain why, but even under the circumstances it developed, it felt very realistic. I truly believe the feelings from each other.

Overall an amazing book, It had some themes that might be triggering from some readers so beware before reading. I can’t recommend it enough, It was beautiful.

This entry was posted in M/M.

Leave a Reply

