Review: An Unexpected Shot by Caitlin Ricci and A.J. Marcus

An Unexpected Shot

 

Darius has just retired as a police officer and opened his PI business. He expects to help people and continue the exciting life he had while on the force, but most of his cases center around cheating spouses. That is until a young boy comes into his office one afternoon.

Parker insists that his parents are missing, and not believing him, Darius calls the people on the boy’s phone to find one who is willing to pick him up. Rick, a family friend, comes to get him. As a thank you for watching over Parker, Rick invites Darius to his house for dinner. Their connection is instant, but their romantic night together becomes complicated when men break into Rick’s house and start shooting.

 

REVIEW

 

This was a really short story. It was entertaining but I wish it was a little bit longer, because it felt too rushed. In general it was really interesting. Different to what I would expect but with a nice mystery and some action.

I think it was a good idea, but I’m not sure it was perfectly executed. Perhaps it got something to do with the length of it, a little more words would be perfect and the mystery might be a little more interesting. I don’t think I had the opportunity of guessing what the mystery was, there wasn’t any hint and I love trying to guess, but there just wasn’t possible. The pace was just too fast to even understand what was going on and I felt lost a lot of times, especially in the action scenes.

The characters were nice, I liked them all, especially Parker, even though he didn’t have much on page time. I was a little intimidated by Rick’s attitude, I guess I’m not used to someone so upfront as he was, so self-assured and who really knows what he wants and don’t hesitate to ask for it. I felt off guard about him and I didn’t knew what to expect, which made him a great character. I can’t say the say about Darius, he was likable but he felt a little plane and I didn’t care about him as much as I did for Rick. I didn’t liked them together that much, I don’t felt like they had a real connection and the way the relationship was developed felt too forced.

In general it was a nice book. What I liked the most about it was Rick, he was an interesting character and I really liked the family dynamics, even though it wasn’t entirely explore, but I felt like it was a great potential there. I enjoyed it, but I truly would wish it was a lot longer, I think I would like it more. It was my first book from the authors but I’m intrigued for what I’d read and I’ll keep my eyes on them.

* I received copy of this book from the publisher in exchange of an honest review.

This entry was posted in M/M.

Leave a Reply

