Review: The Impossible Boy by Anna Martin

The Impossible Boy

 

This is not your average love story.

Ben Easton is not your average romantic hero. He’s a tattooed, badass, wannabe rock star, working in a perfectly horrible dive bar in Camden Town. His life is good, and he’s totally unprepared for how one man will turn it upside down.

Stan isn’t your average heroine. As a gender-fluid man, he proudly wears his blond hair long, his heels sky-high, and his makeup perfectly executed. A fashion industry prodigy, Stan is in London after stints working in Italy and New York City, and he quickly falls for Ben’s devil-may-care attitude and the warm, soft heart Ben hides behind it.

Beneath the perfect, elegant exterior, Stan has plenty of scars from teenage battles with anorexia. And it only takes the slightest slip for his demons to rush back in while Ben is away touring with his band. With the band on the brink of a breakthrough, Ben is forced to find a way to balance the opportunity of a lifetime with caring for his beautiful boyfriend.

 

REVIEW

 

This is the first time I’d read about a gender-fluid character and it was so beautiful. I’m glad that the book wasn’t center on that particular feature of who Stan was. It was a beautiful love story with the ups and downs every relationship has, it was such a great book.

Stan was a stunning character. I loved him from the first pages and I loved his struggles with some issues he had. Ben was also a lovely character. Their relationship was very endearing, they were so cute together and it felt like it was developed in a very realistic way. Every secondary character was also great, but I guess Tone was the one I liked the most, and I think it’ll be the same with most readers.

I loved the story was divided in two parts and what each of them represent. I guess getting into the second part prepared the reader to something different. I loved both parts because I got to fell in love with them being together and then, when I was so sure nothing else could happen, some interesting event turns the story around. It was absolutely brilliant and I enjoyed it so much.

In general was a great book, I would recommend it to any reader, it had some very lovely characters. A brief comment on that cover, it is stunning. For me it was the cover what made the magic, I didn’t knew the author, and the book would probably passed unnoticed by me, but I saw that stunning cover that made me look it twice, read the blurb and buy the book, I’m very glad I did, this was so beautiful.

This entry was posted in M/M.

Leave a Reply

