Review: Concourse (Five Boroughs #5) by Santino Hassell

Concourse (Five Boroughs, #5)

 

Ashton Townsend is the most famous celebutante of Manhattan’s glitterati. The black sheep of his wealthy family, he’s known for his club appearances, Instagram account, and sex tape. Most people can’t imagine him wanting for anything, but Ashton yearns for friendship, respect, and the love of his best friend—amateur boxer Valdrin Leka.

Val’s relationship with Ashton is complicated. As the son of Ashton’s beloved nanny, Val has always bounced between resenting Ashton and regarding him as his best friend. And then there’s the sexual attraction between them that Val tries so hard to ignore.

When Ashton flees his glitzy lifestyle, he finds refuge with Val in the Bronx. Between Val’s training for an upcoming fight and dodging paparazzi, they succumb to their need for each other. But before they can figure out what it all means—and what they want to do about it—the world drags them out of their haven, revealing a secret Val has kept for years. Now, Ashton has to decide whether to once again envelop himself in his party-boy persona, or to trust in the only man who’s ever seen the real him.

 

REVIEW

 

This was a great book, I liked it a lot. The author is clearly very talented and has made an amazing job putting this series together, but I’ll admit this has been my least favorite book from the Five Boroughs Series.

What I liked about it were the characters, both main and secondary were really good. It is hard for me not to compare it with the previous books from the series and maybe if I haven’t read them yet, this would have rate higher on my favorite books, but it just wasn’t the case and based on that comparison the characters, even though good, felt a little underdeveloped. I liked Ashton the most, he was really sweet and extremely frustrating. I missed some features of his personality that I remember from First and First, I recalled he was extremely dependent and here he seemed more detached, still looking for approval but I felt like something was missing. Val was nice, but what I didn’t liked much about him was the fact that he was just too perfect, and even the things that weren’t as perfect about his acts, had always some redeeming element. He felt like he just couldn’t do wrong and I love characters with flaws.

The plot was nice, but there was some point when it became too predictable. I feel like it lack mystery. The relationship between the main characters was great, I really enjoyed that part. They were so good together, I loved the sweet little moments between them, the subtle ones, like sights and calls and the way they talk to each other.

Overall it was good, I loved Ashton and I think anyone who likes the series would enjoy this instalment as well.

This entry was posted in M/M.

Leave a Reply

