Review: Pandora by Marguerite Labbe

Pandora

 

2nd Edition
Haunted by the screams of the men he murdered, ex-Marine medic Riff Khora is serving a life sentence on board a prison ship. Seeking more punishment for his crime, he strikes a deal with the corrupt Captain Vidal—an exchange of pleasure and pain—and forges a new life leading the team that surveys space wreckage for salvage.

Ship engineer Zed Jakobsen’s psychometric abilities make prison a sentence worse than death, and the barrage of emotional stimuli is an unending torment. His only regret is that he didn’t kill the monster who sent him to prison, and only a glimmer of hope to escape a judgment he doesn’t deserve keeps him clinging to a brutal existence.

When they board derelict ship Pandora and discover a lone survivor, the hell of prison life plunges into abject horror. An epidemic of violence and insanity consumes their ship, driving the crew to murder and destruction. Mutual need draws Riff and Zed together, and their bond gives them the strength to fight a reality they cannot trust. But Vidal possesses the only means of escape from the nightmare, and he’s not letting anyone leave alive.

First Edition published as Pandora in the Deep Into Darkness: Aliens, Alphas and Antiheroes Anthology by Smashwords, 2015.

 

REVIEW

 

It was a book that I really enjoyed. I didn’t loved it as I tough I would, but there were a lot of things that I liked a lot about it.

The plot was really interesting, and it was one of the things I liked the most. It wasn’t predictable at all, it was great to keep guessing what would happen. It was really intriguing and, at moments, a little scary. It had a slow pace for most of it, but I think it help keeping the mystery. There was some parts at the end that I wasn’t too satisfied by them, mostly at the end, but in general it was really good.

The main characters were one of the things that didn’t allow me to love the book. It was very hard for me to connect any emotions with them. They have great stories and it was nice to see how they deal with their own demons, but on terms of emotions towards, not only the whole situation they were into, but also their relationship was very hard for me to believe them. There was something that I just wasn’t connecting with them, I just felt a little indifferent about them, not liked them but didn’t hate them either. It was different with the secondary characters, I got to care a lot about some of them. Captain Vidal did generate some emotions in me, not pleasant ones, but emotions nonetheless. There was a character that made the difference for me and kept me hook to the story, I’m not saying much about him because he isn’t mention by name on the book description, but he was my favorite. He was very intriguing, mysterious and a little bit scary too. The only issue about him is that I would love for him to have a bigger part, there was so much about him I would love to know.

It had some BDSM but I wasn’t too much convinced by it, the one playing the submissive part just didn’t seem one to me, there was something lacking in his attitude and I would prefer if that was omitted from the book. Is not lack of interest on BDSM, just the contraire, it didn’t meet my expectations.

Overall it was really a nice book, I liked it a lot. And I think any reader who enjoy reading Sci-Fi books can like it. The book cover (by the way, gorgeous) makes a fantastic job showing the general emotion the book has.

 

*I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through the DBML program of the M/M Romance group at goodreads.

This entry was posted in M/M.

Leave a Reply

