Audiobook Review: An Unlocked Heart (Collars and Cuffs #1) by K.C. Wells

An Unlocked Heart (Collars and Cuffs, #1)

 

Since the death of his submissive lover two years ago, Leo hasn’t been living—merely existing. He focuses on making Collars & Cuffs, a BDSM club in Manchester’s gay village, successful. That changes the night he and his business partner have their weekly meeting at Severinos. Leo can’t keep his eyes off the new server. The shy man seems determined to avoid Leo’s gaze, but that’s like a red rag to a bull. Leo loves a challenge.

Alex Daniels works at Severinos to scrape together the money to move out on his own. He struggles with coming out, but he’s drawn to Leo, the gorgeous guy with the icy-blue eyes who’s been eating in his area nearly every night.

Leo won’t let Alex’s hesitance get in the way. He even keeps him away from the club so as not to scare him. And as for telling Alex that Leo is a Dom? Not a good idea. One date becomes two, but date two leads to Leo’s bedroom… and Alex discovers things about himself he never realized—and never wanted anyone to see.

REVIEW

 

This was so different from what I expected. Being a BDSM story I had some expectations about it, but the book went far beyond them in the best possible way. It was certainly sweeter than I thought, which was great.

The characters were so nice, I liked Alex’s shyness and the family conflicts that were so interesting. I loved how the author take enough time to introduce the characters and slowly develop a realistic relationship. Leo was such a great character too, I loved how he had his own insecurities and it was good to see a dom portray in a more believable way, with real emotions and not all the time so self-confident. I think it made him more sympathetic and it was beautiful to see how interested he was in not pushing Alex to things he wasn’t ready yet. It was such a lovely relationship.

There was some nice secondary characters too. I don’t remember reading any characters that didn’t seem like he would have a story to tell. The only issue I had with the book was that I felt like it extended too much. I didn’t feel the last chapters were necessary to tell the story and it kind of bother me a little, I would prefer it to end sooner because I lost part of the emotion at the end.

I listen to the audio version for most of the book, I think the narration made me loved the story even more. I generally say I’m not a an audiobook person, but I’m second guessing myself, because I think is a matter of the narrator. On this occasion it was beautifully done. I loved the pace, the different voices given to the characters and the way he told the story. It was great.

This entry was posted in M/M.

Leave a Reply

