Review: Exile for Dreamers (Stranje House #2) by Kathleen Baldwin

Exile for Dreamers (Stranje House, #2)

 

It’s 1814. Napoleon has escaped his imprisonment on Elba. Europe is in shambles. Britain is at war on four fronts. And at Stranje House, a School for Unusual Girls, five young ladies are secretly being trained for a world of spies, diplomacy, and war.

Tess Aubreyson can’t run far enough or fast enough to escape the prophetic dreams that haunt her. Dreams bring nothing but death and grief, and Tess refuses to accept that she may be destined for the same madness that destroyed her mother. Until her disturbing dreams become the only means of saving Lord Ravencross, the man she loves, and her fellow students at Stranje House. Tess’s old friend, the traitorous Lady Daneska, and Ghost, the ruthless leader of the Iron Crown, have returned to England, intent on paving the way for Napoleon’s invasion. Can the young ladies of Stranje House prevail once more? Or is England destined to fall into the hands of the power-mad dictator?

 

REVIEW

This was an interesting book. Very unusual for me since I’m not really into historical books, but entertaining nonetheless.

I had some trouble at the begging, it was very hard to get myself involved into the story, mostly because it’s a second book in a series and I haven’t read the first book. I should have known the main characters from the previous book, which obviously I didn’t, and what had happen before to make it easier to understand what was going on. I still decided to keep reading and as the story keep developing it became easier to get myself into it.

The plot was interesting, I was a little indifferent to it at the start but as I keep reading it got better. The language seemed appropriate for the time. One of the times I disliked a bit about it was that the female characters seemed somehow older than they apparently were considering they were in a school. Maybe it got something to do with the place and time the story was set, but at times they just seemed much older to me.

The characters were a little bit underdeveloped, but I guess it might have something to do, again, with it being a second instalment on a series. I did enjoyed Tess and Gabriel’s relationship but I was underwhelmed by the romance part. I guess its ok since the book isn’t a romance. There was a characters I was most intrigued by and who I would love to know more about, Daneska seemed like the most interesting character for me, I’m not entirely buying her motives, I feel like there’s so much more about her to know.

Overall it was a good book, I might not too fond on historical books, but this was a really good one.

Leave a Reply

