Review: Just Another Season (The Blizzard Chronicles) by Avery J. Longley

Just Another Season (The Blizzard Chronicles)

Emma is just another sports reporter…except she hates sports. Ryan is just another hockey goalie…except an injury has his career in doubt. What happens when these two are forced to live with each other over the course of the year? Will it simply be Just Another Season or will sparks fly?

REVIEW

I enjoyed reading this book. It was very fun at some parts. It had a little bit of everything, romance, sports, family and fights.

The plot was nice. It had some conflicts but there wasn’t too much angst. I liked the beginning the most, I find it a lot more fun than the rest of the story. There was some humorous element that start fading as the story kept progressing, but still was easy to be interested on what was going on the whole time. A thing I disliked about it was the constant cursing used mostly at the beginning of the book, I was very glad that it was less frequent as I kept reading, but I don’t think most reader would have issues with that as much as I did. Perhaps it was appropriate for the subject of the story, but is something I have little tolerance for. There are some LGBT elements that I think were properly addressed but I guess I can’t say much without spoilers.

I loved the family dynamics that were shown in the story, it might be one of the things I loved the most about it. To see a very supportive family was lovely.

The character, well I have a lot of thought on them. In general they were nice, and there were so much characters with a lot of potential to be a MC. I’ll admit that I start reading without remembering the name if the male MC and every guy I found in the story seemed to be the one. I loved how it kept me guessing. I have some more detail thoughts on each of them:

Emma was difficult to understand for me. First she was so much fun and seemed so self-confident. But suddenly there was some shyness I couldn’t understand coming from her. And there was this over dramatic side of her that ended up making me disliked her.
Ryan was nice, sort of a perfect gentleman but not quite there. I had issues trying to get into his mind, I didn’t really perceived any feelings from him or Emma, which made it hard, for me, to really care much about their relationship
Luke was a great character. A little unpleasant at first, but I got to liked him a lot.
Trent was the one who got most of my attention, perhaps because of his contradictory way to act and because I truly couldn’t believe in him. I don’t think he was as nice as he seemed to be, there’s something about him I’m still trying to figure out. I did get mad at him because his constant intruding other people’s bossiness. Still I think he was my favorite character, is either him or Luke.

The siblings, friends and rest of the family, all great and a very nice supporting group of secondary characters that I enjoyed very much.

Overall an interesting story, I didn’t expect the ending, but I’m definitely hooked for the next one in the series. I do expect it to have a little more spotlight for another characters.

ARC provided by the author in exchange of an honest review.

Leave a comment